A password-protected directory or area is a folder which can be accessed only if a username and a password are typed in, so no unauthorized individuals could view its content. This option could be used for the primary folder of a particular site or exclusively for a particular subfolder depending on your requirements. For instance, when you are building a new site and you do not want people to see it before it is completely ready, you need to prohibit the access to it as a whole, while if you want only some individuals to be able to access certain files, you could password-protect only a particular folder, while the remaining portion of the site can be seen by everyone. In any case, a “403 Forbidden” error page will appear when the login details the visitor types in are not accurate. Even a direct link to a file won't work as long as any folder above it is password-protected.
Password Protected Directories in Shared Website Hosting
When you use any of our shared website hosting
products, you'll be able to make password-protected areas effortlessly even if you have zero experience with such matters. We've integrated a very easy-to-use point-and-click tool in the Hepsia CP, offered with all accounts, so you will be able to shield any folder within merely seconds. You'll simply have to pick a domain or a subdomain and the specific folder which should be protected (the main one or a subfolder), and then to enter the preferred username and password which will be used to access the folder in question later on. Every secured folder shall have padlock icon in the File Manager section, so you'll be able to see immediately what content is protected and what's not. When necessary, you can create a number of sets of login credentials for the exact same folder.